Looks Can be Deceiving!

But not in this case!

I’m not talking about how delicious fast food pictures look in comparison to the real thing, either. I just searched google images for a picture resembling the scary bastard I dealt with today, (he kind of looked like a meaner version of HellBoy) but to no avail. Nothing I found came close to matching him.

Is anyone out there the leader of a biker gang?

A car pulls up to the speaker, the headset beeps to let me know. “Hi can I take your order?”

“I’ll get a number 3.”

“Did you want fries and cola with that?”

Now, I THINK he said he wanted a number 3, but based on a fear for my own safety and the possibility that he one day stumbles across this blog, I’m not saying that’s what he said. And apparently in his mind it wasnt. “NO, NO fries and pop.”

“Oh, so you just want the chicken sandwich? That’ll be $5.27” At the time I thought this guy was a dickhead.

“NO, I WANT A HAMBURGER WITH JUST KETCHUP.” While this is going down. I’m already considering blogging about it, HEY settle the fuck down, I’M THE ONLY ONE WHO USES CAPITAL LETTERS ON THIS BLOG! No need for yelling at me you prick.

“Oh, sorry about that, I’ll fix it and have the right order and total for you at the first window.” This happens once in a while, I completely screw something up, but usually I catch it before it’s a problem and get it fixed, most times without even being yelled at.

“For fucks sake” the guy says as he pulls away from the speaker.

I pause to consider what he said for a moment, and then I use the headset to talk to my manager. He was in the office, but was listening like a good manager, (as I’ve mentioned before, he’s a cool guy) “Did he just say ‘for fucks sake’?”

My manager, already on his way from the office to the first window to see this giant dickhead says “Yeah, I think so.”

Then my manager walks up to where I am and says “Uh, I’m gonna go ahead and let him say what he wants, you can tell him off if you like.” I look back at him with a WTF face!

Then HellBoy approaches my window. OH! I see now. He’s one scary looking motherfucker.

I give him his food. He doesn’t say a word, just takes the bag, opens it and proceeds to sit at the window for another 30 seconds or so while he makes sure his order is a hamburger with just ketchup, and Jesus tap dancing Christ, I gotta tell ya, I know I make occasional mistakes, but I’m happy I got that one right in the end.

Most times, I’m an asshole when it comes to describing the dumb bastards that I see on a daily basis but from now on, as far as I’m concerned, if you’re the (or look like the) leader of a biker gang, you can say what you want at my speaker 😉

Anyone else who deals with the public ever have a customer like this?

25 responses to this post.

  1. Yes, but I’m a sweet innocent left-handed German Virgo Grandma, aka, don’t mess with sweet innocent me. : ) And she thanks him profusely as she eats her cheeseburger, just ketchup, thank you much.

    Reply

  2. I don’t recall dealing with anyone particularly scary during my wars working in customer service. Although, I did almost get into a fight (literally) with a guy once because he was pissed that I wouldn’t take care of him before the the customers who, you know, got there before he did. What cock that guy was.

    Reply

    • I’ve seen similar people, a debit machine is down/old people don’t know how to work their debit cards, and an angry guy behind them says ‘I’ll pay for theirs AND mine, I HAVE to go, C’MON.’ dick. I also saw a guy come in one day and THROW (as in assaoult) a large soft drink and a bag of food at a cashier and then completely clear the counter of food with his arm. He was pissed about a screwed up order, but that story should probably be an entire future post!

      Reply

  3. People are crazy: that’s my conclusion after 10 years in retail. Repeating that to myself helps me deal with ignorant people…. and I still have regular “fights” with customers….

    Reply

  4. Reblogged this on Is It Possible To See It All and commented:
    This blog deserves a look see my friends. It is flipping hilarious.

    Reply

  5. love your blog – this is funny stuff! great writing too

    Reply

  6. Hi,
    Ah the joys of dealing with the public, it does try your patience sometimes, but this guy does sound as if it is best to let him say whatever he likes. 🙂

    Reply

  7. So you know now that you have forever changed the drive-thru experience for me. Never again will I be able to shout my order into that machine thingy without remembering this blog and laughing out loud. It was very cruel of you to alert me to the fact that there is actually a human being in there somewhere who is taking the order 🙂 Thanks for the chuckle.

    Reply

  8. This is hilarious! I laughed when you said that you’re the only one using capital letters on this blog!

    Reply

  9. I gotta say…you made me chuckle…

    Reply

  10. Great idea for a blog – I’m sure you’ll be continuously amazed that you haven’t seen it all, yet. It’s amazing how people continue to invent new ways to be crazy! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  11. “Jesus tap dancing Christ”.. I’m using that one 🙂

    Reply

  12. Great example of the food looking better on ads….

    The Royal Crown Crust Pizza (only in Dubai!)

    Pic from the advert: http://www.mirror.co.uk/incoming/article805866.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/Crown+Crust+from+Pizza+Hut

    Pic from real life:

    Looks a wee bit shitter!

    Reply

  13. Posted by Curly Mo on May 21, 2012 at 8:04 pm

    I’m one of those biker dudes, but in my neck of the woods we like the drivethru chicks. One time, we’re having our burgers in the carpark when we heard shouting coming from the drivethru. A couple of us went over to have a look and there was this lawyer/accountant type dissing the chicks, really foul mouthed and bullying. Well, we went and sat on his Beemer, told him to apologise and to not use profanities like that. Talk about shrink to midget size. He grovelled and took his order. We suggested he might like to give the girl a decent tip, too. He did. Then we got off his Beemer and told him it would be a good idea if he didn’t come back. The drivethru chicks always have a big smile for us now, even if it is a hassle having 15-20 bikes coming through at once. But we only order basic combos anyways.

    Reply

  14. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JOQJiZ_g3Ho&feature=relmfu – Gabriel Iglesias’s Drive Thru Voice skit. I think you can appreciate this one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

